Ramblings: The Super Bowl, Hot Tamales, and Leadership Development.

The whole aftermath of the Super Bowl focusing on Cam Newton would make me really mad if I was a Broncos fan. Manning is the sentimental story, this moment should be about him riding off into the sunset. And about dropping Budweiser and God both into his post-game speech.

The real story of the Super Bowl should be Von Miller. Yikes. All of the sudden I don’t feel so bad about the Charger losing a couple of games to Broncos this season. Miller is a beast, and I’m glad he got MVP.

The advertising background in me always gets excited to see what the best and brightest come up with for the big game, so this year was an overall letdown. What a waste of Anthony Hopkins selling out. I’m guessing ad agency talent is being directed somewhere else besides tv commercials at this point.

The whole Chargers thing is a mess. Committing to another year in SD the same day they sign an agreement with the Rams ownership is like telling your girlfriend you want to stay together right after signing a lease on a new place with someone else.

I’ve been pretty vocal about how much of a tool Spanos has been in this mess, but make no mistake, the city of San Diego needs to share in the blame. Both sides have shown little regards for the people of San Diego, and one side is going to end up looking like a hero if the Chargers do manage to stay.

Buying new tires may be on of the most frustrating car maintenance purchases. Normally, something that expensive means it’s too complicated to understand if you’re not a mechanic. Tires go in circles, it’s pretty easy.

I can’t wait for baseball season. I know the Padres are in unofficial rebuilding mode, so my expectations aren’t that high. Hopefully this will make the season that much easier to enjoy. Also, we have the All-Star Game this year. I went in 92 and have plans to go this year as well. Stoked doesn’t begin to describe my excitement for those festivities.

What kind of 7-11 doesn’t carry Hot Tamales?

Pacystace and I have found ourselves really interested in the People vs OJ series. I can’t begin to explain why. I didn’t realize that we have that trial to blame for the groundwork of the Kardashian family mess taking over pop culture. Now I don’t like OJ even more.

I’ve been listening to a lot of indie-punk lately. Everything from late 90’s Piebald to the latest Prawn album. There’s something so appealing to about listening to music that could have been written by the guys in the garage next door.

90’s Ska/Punk is still king of my iTunes though.

A couple of weeks ago our staff did some leadership development training with Eric Metcalf from Community Christian Church based out of Chicago. One of the big takeaways for the process of developing leaders was the three-step process of: Identify potential, give a task to complete, then give something that stretches abilities. Seems so simple, but I can see where I, and other leaders could easily skip one of those. If you miss out on identifying abilities, you assign the wrong things to the wrong people and it won’t stick. Not giving an initial task can cause someone to be overwhelmed by going immediately to something over their head. Not stretching someone leads to complacency and boredom.

Instagram is making it easier to switch between multiple accounts. That’s actually been my only frustration with app. I’m declaring them the winner in social media outlet of choice (sorry friendster). Representing a few distinct entities (church, camp, myself) got a whole lot easier to keep separate. Now, if they would go back to only square photos.

Undercover Boss: Kylo Ren may be the funniest SNL video short of the 2010’s.

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

