The Reception.

The older I get the more I believe that heaven is not just some far off place, but also a state where things are as God intended them to be. We see glimpses of this state here on this imperfect earth, and we use the term ‘blessed’ to try and express how we feel when heaven invades our lives.

Two months have passed since Stacy and I got married. To say that married life is a blessing is an understatement, while I wouldn’t use perfection to describe our marriage so far, I would definitely use the term blessed to describe how we feel. I’m sure there’ll be more to come on the joys of marriage (since I’m obviously qualified as an expert now), but for now I want to talk about a few of the things I learned from our wedding reception.

The amount of joy in our lives is in direct correlation with our willingness to follow God’s plan.

Everyone warned us that wedding planning is stressful, and everyone was right. Despite all of the stress and chaos that comes from planning, having an underlying commitment to God as a foundation to all of those plans gave us the ability to find joy in the midst of the chaos. And so, in the midst of even the most chaotic of days, we found ourselves laughing, and enjoying the moment.

Waiting for each other is worth it.

This works on several levels. Without going into too much detail, one of the main reasons we could celebrate with our friends like we did, was because of our willingness to work according to God’s timing. That’s not always easy, and I don’t want to sound harsh to those that aren’t able, but offer up encouragement to those who are trying to follow the same path. Wait for the right person. Marry the right person. Trust God’s plan along the way, no matter how difficult. It’s worth it.

There is no party like a party that is rooted in God.

I’ve been to a lot of weddings. The weddings that are the most fun are the ones where people can completely let loose, because God’s presence is obvious. The drama subsides, the selfishness has no foothold, and things are right in the world. This is where we dance. This is where we throw our hands up in the air. This is where we can’t help but smile. This is where we celebrate with all of our soul, spirit and body. This is our glimpse of heaven.

I thank God every day for Stacy, and am thankful for the way her life has brought me closer to God. And I’m grateful that so many of our friends and family are able to celebrate our lives together. And I’m thankful for a great wedding reception, where it was so easy to see heaven crashing into earth.

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

