v3.0

Hola blogworld, I’m back! For all both of you that missed me I’ve been taking the past few months to go back and re-read my entire blog history from start to finish. I felt like I was in a slump on the ol dot com so I decided to trace back my blogging roots and seek some inspiration. Along the way I made the decision to switch over to a wordpress platform which was long overdue, and since Apple is no longer updating iWeb, now necessary. What I’m losing in ability to create my own minimal design I’m picking up in ability to read on mobile devices, searchable archives, categories, and scheduled posts. That last one is the biggie, since I typically like to write a lot at once, I can now schedule posts so I’m not putting out 5 at once then going months without fresh stuff (not that it would ever happen. again). Don’t worry though, my grammar and spelling will remain terrible.

So going back and reading your own journal, ahem, I mean blog, is a pretty interesting little adventure. It’s fun and somewhat enlightening to go back and see what has stayed important over the years, and see what got left behind. What’s really interesting to see is how the big questions got answered. For example, I first started blogging right before I got my first full time ministry gig, and it’s really crazy to read about what I thought a youth ministry should look like compared to now, knowing how bad those ideas fell flat. Well, some of them. It’s also interesting to see how close I was to figuring out Lost in the first season.

Another big observation was how impersonal the ol blog got as the years went on. Evidently posting up about the girls you’ve dated when you know they can easily read said post is a pretty big inhibitor. No mas! In fact, my first series of posts are entitled ‘The Single Life’ filled with the little details that have been missing over the past few years. Don’t worry, the next incarnation of the blog probably won’t read like Dashboard Confessional lyrics, but they should catch all both of you up on how I’ve successfully managed to embarrass myself in the dating game for a while, and answer that all important, “how are you still single?” question. Think ‘How I met Your Mother’ without every post beginning, “Kids, in the summer of 2009…”.

Also, the ministry oriented posts should be easier to spot so that my ministry fan can read those posts in peace without having to put up with personal nonsense. Now that NVC is up off the ground (another scheduled post) it’s a lot easier to go back and put together details that will hopefully benefit mi amigos in the ministry life. At the very least it should provide a pretty good checklist of what not to do.

Well, that’s it for now. I’m looking forward to increased interaction with the new blog (another wordpress benefit: notifications when all both of my readers respond) and some back-and-forth with you, the reader.

as always,

One love, one heart!

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

3 thoughts on “v3.0”

comment here:

