I’m starting to believe the ocean’s just like you…

I’m going to apologize in advance for this post, especially to all both of my readers that do not live near an ocean.

I love the beach.

I think we all do. There’s something about the beach that captivates our interest. There’s a beauty to the beach that i’ve always had a tough time explaining. A few weeks ago I was having a tough day so I decided to hit up one of my favorite spots to chill for a little bit. The ocean has that effect. I had my feet in the water watching the waves die down, in awe of the sheer size and power of the sea. I’ve always felt a connection with God in moments like these, and this time was no different.

Early on in the story of creation God separates the sea from the sky, then goes on to separate sea from land. It’s right there a few verses into this story that God has been writing since the beginning of time. Standing there at the beach where the sky, the seas and land come together I felt a strong connection to those verses. I think the reason we like the beach so much is because it reminds us that we are part of something much larger than ourselves.

Standing there at the foot of the ocean brings about a great sense of balance. On one hand there is this connection to this epic story that God has been writing forever. Literally. Connecting to that story and realizing that God has uniquely designed you, and cared for you in the midst of the majesty that surrounds you brings about a great sense of pride. But that pride is quickly kept in check by the realization of your size in that story. The ocean has existed long before you, and will last long after you are gone. It has a strength that, at best, you can partially utilize for travel.

One of my favorite song lyrics comes from Open Water by Thrice. “I’m starting to believe the ocean’s just like you, ‘cause it gives, and it takes away.”

And so I find myself standing with my feet in the water,where land sea and sky all meet,  finding a sense of balance that I’ve been trying to find for a while. There is a massive, impressive God out there that is much more powerful than I can possibly grasp or imagine. He has been, and will be writing an epic story beyond my comprehension. And just when I am feeling very small and insignificant,  I am reminded that He chose to include me in His story. He knows me by name. He wants a relationship with me. He sacrificed what He holds most dear so that we could intertwine our stories for the rest of time.

Humility and pride.

Balance is found.

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

