Set Phasers to Stun.

So here’s one huge catch-up post on the past 50 days or so:

Stealing Second.

I fulfilled a lifelong dream by competing in one of the ‘on-field’ games at a Padres’ game. The race was to steal second base and I definitely lost. But, I got to run across a major league outfield without getting arrested, was on the jumbotron, and had my name announced in front of 20k+ fans. Here’s the video:

Needless to say I got a lot of grief for losing, but in my defense it is several feet further to the left field pole. Still, up there on the lifetime highlight reel.

Evangeline Gail.

Later that day I got to meet my first niece, Evangeline Gail Henegar. She’s a little sweetheart and will probably compete with my little sister for most protected little sister around.

FAVE.

A few weeks back I was asked to be a part of the FAVE art festival Reidy Creek Elementary School. I was the ‘professional’ artist asked to help a group of 5th graders paint a mural for their school. They have a great art program, and I was very excited to help out, even though it had been a while since I had been around 10 year olds.

This year’s theme was surfing so we used Tom Veiga’s Serie Wave Art as an inspiration, and spent the better part of the day creating a couple of masterpieces. I had  blast hanging out with the kiddos, and am very thankful for the experience. Here are some pics from the day:

Memorial.

I left the art festival and flew to Houston for Pollock’s (my grandpa) memorial service the next day. It was a good memorial. Uncle Strech told a lot of stories we had never heard before, and a couple of my cousins shared their thoughts as well. I read an extended version of my blog post about Pollock, and that was it. We had finger foods, hung out in the fellowship hall of a church, and talked with a lot of friends of the family. It was a pretty no-frills affair, which is exactly what Pollock would have wanted. Except for the fact that he was the center of attention.

His departure from our family was immediately noticeable, especially when we went out to eat for dinner as a family afterwards, which is something he never would have wanted to do. As sad as the day was, I am grateful for the time I got to spend with family, laughing and sharing stories.

And I got to go to an Astros home game.

Birthday.

I didn’t do a whole lot for my birthday this year. NVC hosted an Acapella concert so I spent most of the day helping set up for that. I was just glad that they didn’t pull me up on stage and sing to me.

I did enjoy the ‘facebook birthday’ phenomenon though, 300+ notifications in one day was a trip, and definitely a fun reminder of of the great friends I have.

I also had fun pulling a little prank on my friends that day. I fake-hacked my own twitter account and posted a phone number for people to call for birthday greetings. The number went to the Roberto’s taco stand on El Cajon Blvd, which probably made for some awkward phone calls. At the very least, I had fun with it.

Bachelor Party.

I don’t want to give away too many details about tappertrainman’s bachelor party, but I do want to say I am very proud of him for really getting out of his shell and entertaining A LOT of people. My favorite quote of the night was, “It’s really hard to pee while wearing a tutu.” Which might help explain this video:

Rapture.

I’m really glad that we snuck that bachelor party in before the rapture on 5/21. In case you didn’t notice the rapture hasn’t come yet, which means the so called prophecy was just a little off. My favorite part of that whole ordeal was messing with the ‘Rapture People’ outside of Target the day before. I typically would ignore those guys but they had a pretty good size crowd riled up, and I couldn’t let that stand. I asked the guy in charge there if he wouldn’t mind if they all signed over the title to their cars effective 5/22 since they obviously wouldn’t be needing them. I explained that I knew some needy families that could totally benefit from a new car, and this was a chance for them to show how certain they were about the impending rapture. Unfortunately no cars were signed over, but the crowd did leave after their speechless response.

The so-called rapture did provide for some great twitter entertainment as well. My favorite of the day goes to @mclanea:

Wanted: Kurt Cameron impersonator to go to Disneyland with my family tomorrow. #may21

Wedding.

I’m even more excited that the whole rapture thing was a false alarm, because the next weekend tappertrainman got married. It was a fun wedding, and one of the first times in a while the three of us have had to hang out. I love my best friends like brothers, and couldn’t be happier about the way our lives are turning out. There were a lot of great moments to the wedding but my favorite were:

James putting ketchup on his mexican food. A great reminder that some things will never change.

Me and the bride’s cousin (taken) doing the Thriller dance down the aisle.

The three of us doing our annual recreation of this classic photo:

And getting to spend some time with my mom, and the other moms:

And then June hit, and I had…

baseball games

graduations

Faith Night (after a baseball game)

Hanging out with the dantheman and family ( at a baseball game)

Some dodgeball

A beach devo

A Taking Back Sunday concert

Some more baseball

My first abstract art piece

I’ve also been spending some time with other youth pastors from different denominations, which has been a huge blessing, and a great learning experience. If you’re a youth minister reading this, please check out theNational Network of Youth Ministries. They’re a great organization that I am looking forward to working with in the future.

Add to the mix a gym membership, a switch to chicken salads for at least one meal a day, and dropping a few pounds and you have my last 50 days or so.

Lastly, I haven’t really felt like blogging a whole lot, or reading other blogs for the past few weeks, which is one of those cycles that I go through from time to time. It’s always good to take a break from the norm and chill a little bit. But, I’m really excited to go back and see what my favorite bloggers have published lately.

One love, one heart.

Reading:

Creative Matters / Creative Collective

Vintage Jesus / Marc Driscoll

Love Wins / Rob Bell

Listening:

Nine Types of Light /  TV On The Radio

Wasting Light / Foo Fighters

Self Titled / Now The Rabbit Has The Gun

Hot Sauce Committee Part Two / Beastie Boys

Laugh Now, Laugh Later / Face To Face

Give Till It’s Gone / Ben Harper

Codes and Keys / Death Cab For Cutie

With Shivering Hearts We Wait / Blindside

Self Titled / Kingdom County

Alpocalypse / Weird Al Yankovic

The Cradle / The Colour Revolt

Self Titled / Taking Back Sunday

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

