#pbl11

My highlights from the Pepperdine Bible Lectureships.

Deep Breath.

The lectureships serve as a psuedo-sabbath for me. I use it as a time to get my soul in order, relax and dive headfirst into summer. I am definitely a seasonal person, and the PBL serve as a great start to what tends to be my most energy filled time of year. The setting, worship and quality of conversation provide for an overflowing soul.

Best and Brightest.

Every year I get more and more out of the lineup of speakers at PBL. This year I was excited to hear not only from several mentors, but several friends as well. It is always exciting to be surrounded by men and women with such great hearts for God, and the ability to communicate that heart so effectively.

New and Old Friends.

My favorite part of the PBL is reconnecting with old friends. I’ve lived in San Diego, Seattle, OKC, Tulsa, Simi Valley and back down to San Diego. The lectureships attract people that I call family from every walk of my life. Every year I take one day to simply hang out in the main courtyard and see who passes by. This year I made it 4 hours of nonstop running into old friends. Days like that do wonders for the soul. I consider myself vey blessed.

LIkewise, the PBL serves as a great place to develop some quality friendships. Every year I meet some great people. This year was no different, with the added bonus of meeting a lot of facebook/twitter friends in person for the first time. Which leads me to my next highlight:

#twittertakeover

I’m a huge fan of social media. Last year at the PBL several fake twitter personalities made their big debut, and this year they became the talk of the week. The originators were restoration movement forefathers Alexander Campbell and Barton Stone. This year the list expanded to other restorationists; Raccoon John SmithJames Harding and then to other great fake personalities like Church of Christ LadyChurch of Christ Elder,Restoration Hulk (a personal fave), Don Goodwin, and the talk of the lectureship, fake Jerry Rushford. The original two came clean this year, and a couple others followed suit, but the rest are still the talk of twitter. All I know is, whoever has the fake Rushford account is really REALLY funny. Props to that guy (or perhaps girl – that’s my guess) who is the fake Rushford for getting mentioned by the actual Jerry Rushford on the closing night of the lectures. Earlier today they said they would come clean, still no word yet.

The Team.

New Vintage Church was well represented this year, and I am very excited for my friends. Tim did a great job teaching the ‘Contrarians Guide To Church Leadership’ class. For me it was like the highlights from a lot of staff meetings, and a great reminder of the importance of Christlike leadership. Peter and Lindsey Wilson led worship with Zoe Group and the NVC Praise team, and my roommate bigorangematty even got in on the action a few times, which was very cool to be a part of. I was blessed to see some of the behind-the-scenes prep for their worship time, and was very impressed by the heart and dedication they put into leading worship.

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

