Beautiful Things.

Gungor / Beautiful Things

All this pain

I wonder if I’ll ever find my way

I wonder if my life could really change at all

All this earth

Could all that is lost ever be found

Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

All around

Hope is springing up from this old ground

Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new

You make me new, You are making me new

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of the dust

You make beautiful things

You make beautiful things out of us

These words have been ringing in my head ever since I went to the Catalyst Leadership Conference. Gungor led worship one afternoon, and I was completely blown away. I’m not sure how long this particular song lasted, but it seemed like we could not stop repeating the chorus:

You make beautiful things…

It’s so easy to keep the Creator God confined to the Genesis story. I often forget that God is still at work creating beauty in our lives. What’s even crazier is that He uses us as a meaningful part of His art.

You make beautiful things out of the dust…

With all of the tragedy and strife in this world, it could be very easy to look around and say that this a bleak world that we live in. Yet, in the midst of some of our darkest hours, the Lord is able to create the most beautiful moments. I’ve seen a nation come together in prayer in response to a tragedy. Families grow closer through adversity. Late night emergency room visits become vigilant times of prayer. Times of confusion and loss seem to be open doors for the Creator to amaze.

You make beautiful things…

And these beautiful things surround us constantly. So often I have my head down, be it due to lack of energy, zeal, or simply grinding away at trying to do… something. This beauty often catches me off guard, but it shouldn’t. Songs like this remind us that His beauty is right here, right now.

You make beautiful things out of us…

And yet with all of His creation, who does He call to be by His side? Us. Who does He fill with the Holy Spirit? Us. One of my favorite passages in the Bible comes from Romans 12. It says that we should consider ourselves with sober judgement, in accordance with the measure of our faith. What if we saw ourselves clearly, like God sees us? What if we stopped to look around and see the beauty around us? What if we started to see the beauty in us?

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

