THAT guy.

Hola blogworld!

 

There’s been a recent phenomenon developing in my life. Actually it’s been developing for years, but it has recently started to come to a head. I’ve become a ‘that guy’.

 

Even if you don’t know the terminology you know a ‘that guy’. Maybe he’s ‘the coffee guy’, or the ‘Ed Hardy guy’ or even the feared  ‘Raiders fan’. My guess is that you’ve had a conversation somewhat like this;

 

“Oh you know Bob.”

 

“I’m not sure. Which one was Bob?”

 

“Bob, from the party. You know, Bill’s friend.”

 

“I don’t remember.”

 

“He’s that guy that farts when he laughs.”

 

“Oh yeah, THAT guy.”

 

(By the way, you don’t want to be that THAT guy.)

 

Getting back to recent times, there has been another interesting development over the past few months. San Diego has turned into a great town to be a sports fan. I’ve got split allegiances when it comes to baseball, and it has definitely been an easy year to be a Padres fan. When it comes to football, there is only the Chargers. Fall is truly the best time of year to be a sports fan. With this season comes an increase in the regularity of people attending said sporting events. And with the rise in event attendance comes a rise in bailouts, aka open tickets.

 

This is where I come in.

 

In the past month I’ve attended all three Charger home games and six Padre games. A majority of these games have been by invitation from friends who have open tickets. After telling my friend about my recent string of good fortune (while sitting six rows up from the first baseline) he replied that this shouldn’t surprise me, then bestowed upon me the THAT guy title of ‘Ballgame Guy’.

 

First, I’d like to thank God for this opportunity. I know none of this would not be possible without His providence and direction in my life. I’d like to thank my parents for raising me in a sports home. My dad for taking me to so many ballgames as a kid, and my mom for her unwavering support for all things sports. I’d also like to point out that my sister is quite the sports fan herself, and I am very proud of her. I’d like to thank Cutler for teaching me to scalp tickets, and all of the many invites over the years. I’d like to thank my church family and friends for thinking of me when there is a sporting event involved. This award really belongs to all of you. (Music starts to play) I know I need to wrap up here, but I want everyone to know that I couldn’t be more thankful for this title.

 

One love, One heart.

 

Reading:

Men At Work / George Will

 

Listening:

We Will Rock You / Queen

Centerfield / John Fogerty

Twist and Shout / Beatles

Walk of Life / Dire Straights

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

