Leadership in progress.

This past week the North County staff went up to Lake Arrowhead for our annual team retreat. It was a great few days filled with plenty of laughter, a lot of good food, and more vision than you can imagine. I feel very humbled and blessed to be part of such a great team at North County, and do my best not to take this blessing for granted.

 

During our time together, I was once again reminded of the access that I have to some great leadership training. I am constantly impressed, blessed and challenged by our Senior Minister, Tim Spivey. Likewise, working hand in hand with the rest of our team continuously pushes me to give my best back to the Lord through serving in His church.

 

I was also thinking about the lessons in leadership I have learned in my time at North County. I am a huge fan of Tim’s blog (www.TimSpivey.com) which is a phenomenal resource for leadership training. So I decided to put together a series of my own lessons learned in leadership over the next few weeks. I do not claim to be an expert in leadership, merely a blessed individual in the midst of a great learning experience. My prayer is that these ideas (which are a collection or paraphrase of many others’ original ideas) will find the hearts they need to find. Sometimes the people that need the most help do not have the access to the help they need. I’ve been there. It’s rough. I hope and pray that this series is a blessing to someone out there. At the very least, all both of my longtime readers can have a deeper understanding of why I love my job so much.

 

I’m looking forward to this series and thank our Lord every day for being blessed beyond what I deserve.

 

One love, one heart.

 

Reading:

Sticky Teams / Larry Osbourne

Axiom / Bill Hybels

Getting Things Done / David Allen

TimSpivey.com

 

Listening:

ST / Buena Vista Social Club

Brian Wilson Reimagines Gershwin / Brian Wilson

Live From Orensanz / Taking Back Sunday

Down On The Upside / Soundgarden

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

