The Shadow Proves the Sunshine.

I got the new iPhone today, and while there was a great deal of excitement over my new gadget, I am going to miss my old phone.

 

One of the first things that people would notice about my old phone is the crack running across the bottom half of the screen. Some people have asked how I cracked my phone, while many others have suggested I replace my phone over the past year.

 

The thing is; I really liked my broken phone.

 

I broke it over a year ago, the night that I got hired on at my current job at North County. I was so excited after the interview that I had to call someone. At that time, only my mom knew I was interviewing at NC3, so I reached into my pocket to call her. I remember clearly the phone slipping out of my hand and landing face first on a pebble in the parking lot.  I picked it up, and looked at the screen with a giant crack in it, and made sure it still worked. When the call went through to my mom I didn’t care about the condition of my phone anymore.

 

As time has passed, and I am continuing to love my job more and more, I have become increasingly reluctant to fix my phone. It is a constant reminder of that night, and the joy that has followed. So while others may see a broken phone, I see a reminder about how God answers prayers.

 

It also served as a great reminder that even in the midst of joy, there is still brokenness in the world. There are millions of people in the world who will never even see an iPhone, let alone feel sorry about a cracked screen. So while I celebrate I must keep the reason for my joy in perspective.

 

On the flip side, there are days where I focus in on the tragedy. During those days it is important to remember that the tough things in life typically happen between times of great blessing. We can choose to focus on the negative, or we can recall the joy that we have experienced and be reminded that we are still blessed.

 

One love, one heart.

 

listening:

MAYA / M.I.A.

Best of / The Doobie Brothers

Fuel For The Hate Game / Hot Water Music

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

