Time.

Well, it’s been about two months since the last update, and there’s been a bunch going on. We’ve had graduations, spirit west coast, summer kickoff, summer devos, hosted a mission team, broomball, more graduations, church camp, learning to surf, picking up a kayak, july 4th and a few world cup games.

 

The key word is busy.

 

This word comes up every summer, and it makes sense, because that’s the way it goes in youth ministry. Summer=busy. So this summer I decided not to let the busyness consume me. It’s been tough. But when I look at the cost of succumbing to busyness it is easy to see the benefits of stepping back.

 

First of all, being busy for the sake of being busy can easily distract you from worshiping God. I find myself putting my schedule ahead of God, with a mentality that if I get all of these things done I can go ahead and wholly devote myself to God. The underlying idea is that I do want to spend time with God, but everything else must be done first. I’m pretty sure this is not the way we were designed to operate. “Thall shall have no other gods before me” starts to penetrate my heart and forces me to stop, breathe, and enjoy the moment with the Lord.

 

So the theme of our high school camp this past week was ‘Time’. We talked about the song in Revelation that echoes throughout time; ‘Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come.” We spent time looking back to see how God has worked in our past. We talked about the importance of the seeing God in the present, and we closed with looking toward our futures. But the day that I was the most excited about was called ‘Your time with God’. We talked about how it is so easy to separate our time. We have time for school, time for church, time for work etc… but do we have time for God?

 

The reality is that all of our time is with God.

 

And we have a choice in how we spend that time with God.

 

One of my favorite passages comes from Romans 12, and it says that we are to offer up ourselves as living sacrifices, wholly and pleasing to God… this is our spiritual act to worship.

 

Being busy planning camp is much different than working on camp as an act of worship to God. Beach devos are no longer about smores and surfing, but a time where God’s children can worship him together. Spirit West Coast is not about selling t-shirts, but using a gift to encourage others. The list goes on…

 

And so the shift begins.

 

This time right now is with God. That changes things for me. It forces me to step out of my own selfish desires and realize that my time is not my own. It is God’s time that has been given to me, and I have the choice to give it back.

 

Wether your time is busy, quiet, peaceful, stressful, fast paced or barley at a crawl; may your time with God be blessed.

 

More posts to come soon.

 

One love, one heart.

 

listening:

As Ourselves / Pat Little Band

Ragamuffin Soul / Carlos Whitaker

Travel I & II / Future of Forestry

 

reading:

Genesis

Revelation

The Baseball Codes / Jason Turbow

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

