Spectrum.

This past weekend I was blessed enough to travel up North to Vancouver Washington to host another Blank Page event for my friend Bestbuy and his youth ministry. It was a great weekend for me because I got a chance to breathe little bit before summer kicks into high gear, and I was able to take part in creating a vision for a youth ministry, which is one of my favorite things to do.

 

I was really impressed by the group this weekend. The concept, or two words, they decided on as a focus for their ministry are ‘radiant and free’ which make for a great vision for ministry. The name they came up with is ‘Spectrum’ which is not only original, but full of powerful potential.

 

They chose ‘radiant’ because it calls them to spread light into the world. And they chose ‘free’ because they want people to feel free to share that light in the way that God calls them to do so. Like I said, I was very impressed.

 

So we come to the name ‘Spectrum’. A spectrum is created when a single light is introduced to an object and and is split into the entire range of colors. For us, the name Spectrum represents the light of Jesus that is introduced to us, and is separated out into the different gifts that we have to offer the world.

 

May God bless Spectrum Youth Ministry.

 

Whenever I am a part of a retreat like this, it pushes me spiritually as well. I am really interested in plugging into this light, and watching it spread through different venues, or colors, in my life. The Gospel includes many references to Christ as ‘the light’ and ends with a charge to go into all the world and share this light, which brings some vivid images to mind. I get this image of amazing, bold colors shining everywhere, and this palace surrounded by light in the center of these colors. It’s hard to see this palace because the combination of all of the colors creates a blinding white light. This white light is bold, pure, overpowering and at the same time very comforting.

 

Lastly, I think of the promise that God used to tell Noah that he would never flood the earth again. It was a spectrum of light. I think of the new genesis that he and his family were called to under this spectrum, and the diversity of life that would follow.

 

Years ago, computer screens were only able to display a few thousand colors, and we were fine. We enjoyed this while it lasted, but in the years since we have progressed to a point where screens now boast millions of colors, more than we can detect with the human eye. May God bless us in the same way. May we continue to display more colors every day. May we represent the entire spectrum of light.

 

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

