Tiger.

Like many people, I was very interested in hearing what Tiger Woods had to say this morning. I watched, and listened to what he said throughout his apology, and am holding out hope that his apology was sincere.

 

While I was watching the interview, I received two emails and a message on facebook from friends and acquaintances asking for prayers because they are struggling with sin as well.

 

Last night during the ‘Drops like Stars’ tour, Rob Bell handed every audience member a blank notecard. He asked us to write on that card ‘I know how you feel’ using our non-dominant hand. (I will go much further in depth on drops like stars on another post) After this exercise, he had everyone who had been directly affected by cancer stand up. Hundreds stood. He then asked everyone standing to pass their card to a stranger. After repeating this exercise for those who struggle with different scenarios, we all ended up holding cards written from strangers. I looked around wondering where my card came from.

 

‘I know how you feel’ was striking me to the core. It is part of what Rob Bell calls the art of solidarity.

 

What if every professional athlete that has cheated on their spouse stood up and apologized today?

 

ESPN would explode.

 

What would happen if we stopped criticizing Tiger Woods and we started standing up with words like, ‘I’ve messed up too’?

 

1-800-FLOWERS would explode.

 

Here’s the thing, Tiger hit the nail on the head this morning. He messed up. A lot. Over and over again.

 

This sounds familiar.

 

I need to take a long look in the mirror before I talk about Tiger.

 

My actions have caused my family pain. My actions have hurt those I work with, and those I work for. My friends and family have paid the price for my bad decisions, however the blame lies squarely on my shoulders.

 

The healing however, is different.

 

In the book of James, the author says that forgiveness of sin comes from God, but healing comes about from confessing to each other.

 

Instead of criticizing Tiger, maybe we should embrace his mistakes, and learn from him. Maybe we should confess these lessons as well.

 

Mistakes will cost you.

 

Addictions and destructive lifestyles will destroy the things you value most.

 

Our selfishness affects others.

 

Gaining the world doesn’t mean a thing if we lose our soul.

 

So to Tiger, and my friends and acquaintances; I know how you feel. I also know there is a God who is ready to forgive, and others out there ready to heal.

 

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

