Blogweek Day 7

Evidently Oprah does a list every year of her favorite things. And then she gives them away to audience members. Or something like that. At least that’s what I overheard the women who decorate our stage at church say when I was helping them move Christmas trees a few weeks ago. I’m not a big Oprah fan, but I am a fan of lists, and someday I’d like to be a huge media mogul so I thought it would be cool to put together a list of my favorite things. I don’t have Oprah cash to give these things away, but I have mostly cheap tastes so you could probably afford most of these things anyways. Whatever. Here is my 2009 list of my favorite things:

 

Moleskin Notebooks:pastedGraphic.pdf

I switched from yellow legal pads to moleskin notebooks this year for keeping notes and sketching. This has made a huge difference in my cred at Barnes & Noble when I hang out trying to get my lessons together. The key feature here is the band to keep everything in place. It also adds an extra amount of security for personal privacy.

 

Neil Diamond Christmas Album:pastedGraphic_1.pdf

Neil is the last of the real crooners, and that’s exactly how I like my Christmas music. Crooned. Surprisingly, this makes for good winter workout music as well. And by winter workout I mean sitting around and eating a lot of cookies.

 

Facebook:

pastedGraphic_2.pdf

You may have heard of this popular social networking site. There is a really good mention of facebook here. It’s a great place to store pictures and keep up with old friends.

 

Trojan Dogs:

pastedGraphic_3.pdf

I’ve  mentioned these before, but they are quickly becoming one of my favorite foods. I like mine with extra red peppers.

 

Pepsi:

pastedGraphic_4.pdfThis should come as a surprise to no one. I love pepsi. Almost as much as this guy. I recommend the 12oz can because it cools quickly.

 

The G chord:

pastedGraphic_5.pdf

Almost every song includes the G chord. It’s 1/3 of the chords you need to know to play country or worship music. (Ed. note: the picture above is of the A chord)

 

Door opening reciprocation:

pastedGraphic_6.pdfIf I open the door for you, it’s polite to at least attempt to unlock my door. Thank you.

 

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years:

pastedGraphic_7.pdf

You may have heard me mention this book before, here, here, and here. Despite the title, it’s not about road trips. Not completely. Just do yourself a favor and read the book. If you don’t like it I’ll reimburse you for it. (Ed. note: that is just a figure of speech)

 

Hand Sanitizer:

pastedGraphic_8.pdfIt’s not so much that I like this stuff, but I really hate germs and getting sick.

 

Black Sweaters:

pastedGraphic_9.pdf

Every guy should own one. I own three. One for church, one for going out, and one that stays in my truck just in case something happens to the other two.

 

The Collector’s Edition of Predator:

pastedGraphic_10.pdf

Actually, you probably already own this. Nevermind.

 

Pop Tarts:

pastedGraphic_11.pdf

Sometimes I’m in too much of a rush for a big bowl of cheerios. That’s when I go to the second greatest food out there. I prefer blueberry, but brown sugar are pretty good as well. As long as it’s not cherry.

 

Vans:

pastedGraphic_12.pdf

These are the SoCal version of Chuck Taylor’s, but way better. I keep a clean pair for church and another for kicking around town / skating.

 

Well, I hope you enjoyed this list. One love, one heart.

 

Listening:

The Last Pale Light In The West / Ben Nichols

Primer / Drag The River

Hello Hurricane / Switchfoot

 

Reading:

What Time Is It? You Mean Now? / Yogi Berra

 

Watching:

Football

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

