Blogweek Day 3

I’m a big fan of traditions. I hope to have some of my own someday. Actually, I have a lot of traditions for various events. Every year I watch Field of Dreams the day before the start of baseball. I celebrate April Fool’s day. I never wear the band shirt of the band I am going to see perform, and I always listen to that band on the way home. Oh yeah, and whenever I go on a first date, I always throw away the socks that I wore that night. No, I don’t have any reason for that last one, I just always have.

 

Christmas time is a great season for traditions. Growing up we always got to open up one present on Christmas Eve. My Uncle Jimmy would always make a late night, or early morning appearance. And my favorite, we always wore all clothes that we got (and were going to keep) at once.

 

Over the past few years our family has developed a few new traditions. No presents, and lots of traveling. What can I say, we’re a quality time > gift giving love language family. That, and we can only buy Mom so many snowmen (for the infamous snowman militia that takes over her house every year- another tradition now that I think about it) and vintage Coca Cola accessories.

 

The one I have left for last though, is starting to become my favorite. Every year (despite our family not being really into gifts) mi madre asks us for a Christmas wishlist. For me, it’s not just a wishlist, but it’s a piece of art for mom. I know going into the list that I’m not really into most of the stuff on there, but I make one anyway, because its something we both enjoy. Mom likes that I make something specifically for her, and I like using the list as a way to measure how my design has progressed over the past year.  I posted this year’s list up top, and here are a few of the ones from previous years that I could find.

 

pastedGraphic.pdfpastedGraphic_1.pdfpastedGraphic_2.pdfpastedGraphic_3.pdfpastedGraphic_4.pdf

 

Oh yeah, another tradition is putting something on the list that doesn’t exist to throw off mi madre if she does decide to do the presents thing.

 

What are some of your traditions?

 

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

