Blogweek Day 1

Hola blogworld!

 

Since this week is looking relatively mellow, I’ve decided to declare it blogweek, and put up a new post every day. I know both of my readers (and mom) will be super excited about this, and for everyone else that was googling this guy, sorry.

 

MCM09

This past friday we had the first Merry Christmas Madness with my new youth group. It’s a great video scavenger hunt that enables our kids to do goofy things (like chug a bottle of syrup while wearing a cape) that break them out of their comfort zones. It’s a fun night, but more importantly it a night where we build great stories. I love listening to the kids talk about the random things they’ve done, and knowing that it was all done under the umbrella of the youth ministry. Of all the places these kids could be on a Friday night, and all of the things they could be doing, they’re running around eating whole jars of peanut butter with other kids from church.

 

Wrapped.

Speaking of goofing around, last weekend we pulled our first senior prank and wrapped up one of the other ministers’ office.

 

I have to say we did a pretty good job too.

 

We also have a video running around somewhere with his reaction. Check back for an update later here on blogweek.

 

Trojan Dogs.

Named after the amazing hot dogs we had at the USC game a few weeks ago. The recipe goes like this:

 

grill hot dog

wrap the hot dog in some lean bacon

(use toothpicks to keep it in place)

add grilled onions, red/green peppers

pepper jack cheese if desired

 

yes, they are amazing.

 

Sneeze.

The other night I sneezed real hard while I was walking across my bedroom and several projectiles landed on my bed. I had to stay up late while I washed my sheets. Lessons learned: don’t sneeze near your bed and own more than one set of sheets.

 

Wishlist.

Every year mi madre asks me to put together a Christmas wishlist. Any ideas on what I should ask for? Ed. note: We’re not really doing presents this year so be creative and think big.

 

More to come this week!

 

One love, one heart.

 

Listening:

This is War / 30 Seconds to Mars

Them Crooked Vultures

Pin Points and Gin Joints / Mighty Mighty Bosstones

 

Reading:

What the Dog Saw / Malcolm Gladwell

 

Watching:

Heroes Season 3

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

