Hippies, Matisyahu and the Yankees.

Hola Blogworld!

 

Hippie Failure.

This past weekend we went to see Matisyahu perform at the second annual Kick Gas festival here in San Diego. I’ll get to the concert part in a second, but first I feel the need to detail the reasons I laughed the entire time. This may come as a shock to you, but I’m not big into hippies, so when surrounded by examples of hippie-failure I tend to enjoy myself immensely.

 

First off, there was no one there. We arrived around 6pm, several hours into the festival, and there were more people working the vendor tents than walking around. So all of these vendors had to pack up all of their stuff into vans to show up to a festival with a handful of people. Congrats on saving gas.

 

Secondly, the folks that did show up seemed to be in our demographic, which was the ‘when is Matisyahu playing?’ group. Of this crowd, we were some of the earliest, showing up an hour before the posted time he was supposed to perform. Oh yeah, the bands that performed before Matisyahu were terrible. Think a surfer version of Brett Michaels terrible. Congrats to the hippies on pulling together the least amount of talent possible for 10/11 hours of your festival. Nothing says your cause matters like a bunch of terrible bands. Sidenote: Ron Artest (psycho nba player) was on the lineup too, but somehow we missed his performance.

 

Lastly, if you are planning a ‘green’, semi-anti-establishment concert festival celebrating eco-innovation and such, you might want to choose a better location than…

…right behind an IKEA store. This had me cracking up all night.

 

Matisyahu.

As for Matisyahu himself, I couldn’t have enjoyed the show more. He is a great Reggae artist, and has a great energy at his shows. While watching him perform there were a few things that came to mind:

 

In the Old Testament the Psalms are filled with poems and songs of joy that talk about singing and dancing while praising God. It was moving to see Matisyahu dancing around stage, knowing that he is very intentional about representing his faith through his performance. There is a certain joy that can only come from worshiping the Lord, and I know in my life there has never been dancing offered up as worship. I don’t see that changing anytime soon for me, but it was a beautiful sight to see someone else moved that way.

 

In a turn of events that we did not see coming, Matisyahu did a couple of stage dives into the crowd. On his second dive, he surfed over our way, and lost his hat right above us. This is kind of a big deal because according to his beliefs, a man should always keep his head covered out of respect to the Lord. Fortunately, his cap ended up in the hands of my friend Taylor. We looked at each other, he handed me the hat, and I threw it back on stage. A few minutes later, Matisyahu (who had wrapped his head with a scarf) came back out with the hat on. I know it sounds goofy, but we both felt really good about helping Matisyahu honor God. We might have different beliefs about worshiping God, but I was happy to help him keep to his.

 

And lastly, I’ve been loving the new Matisyahu album, ‘Light’ and I highly recommend you check it out. Right now it’s one of my top 5 albums of the year. Here are the lyrics to my favorite song, ‘One day’.

 

sometimes I lay

under the moon

and thank God I’m breathing

then I pray

don’t take me soon

cause I am here for a reason

sometimes in my tears I drown

but I never let it get me down

so when negativity surrounds

I know some day it’ll all turn around

because

all my life I’ve been waiting for

I’ve been praying for

for the people to say

that we don’t wanna fight no more

they’ll be no more wars

and our children will play

one day x6

it’s not about

win or lose

we all lose

when they feed on the souls of the innocent

blood drenched pavement

keep on moving though the waters stay raging

in this maze you can lose your way (your way)

it might drive you crazy but don’t let it faze you no way (no way)

sometimes in my tears I drown

but I never let it get me down

so when negativity surrounds

I know some day it’ll all turn around

because

all my life I’ve been waiting for

I’ve been praying for

for the people to say

that we don’t wanna fight no more

they’ll be no more wars

and our children will play

one day x6

one day this all will change

treat people the same

stop with the violence

down with the hate

one day we’ll all be free

and proud to be

under the same sun

singing songs of freedom like

one day x4

all my life I’ve been waiting for

I’ve been praying for

for the people to say

that we don’t wanna fight no more

they’ll be no more wars

and our children will play

one day x6

 

Speaking of good tunes.

How cool was the U2 webcast on youtube the other night? I kept waiting for their stage to take off. And I’m pretty sure that was the coolest jumbotron ever. (sorry Dallas). Check out the rebroadcast of the entire concert here.

 

Yikes.

Here’s a pretty close approximation of how the conversation that lead to me watching Paranormal Activity went last Sunday afternoon:

-That movie looks pretty creepy.

-Yeah, I’m not big on scary movies.

-I’m cool, as long as there aren’t any creepy kids in it.

-Are there any creepy kids in Paranormal Activity?

-Um… I didn’t see any in the previews.

-Should we see it?

-I will if you guys will.

-There’s a showing in twenty minutes next door.

-Yeah, the only way I’m watching that, is if I see it in the afternoon.

-I’m only going to see it if I don’t think about it.

-Let’s go.

 

Surfing.

I went surfing again today. Check that, I attempted surfing today. I may never get to the point where I am actually a surfer, but on a day like this…

… how can you resist. At the very least, it was nice to take advantage of the nice weather today and get some sand between my toes.

 

Yankees.

I’m pretty excited about this postseason. The Yankees are firing on all cylinders, and they look good going into the Series. Here are a few of my thoughts on the postseason so far…

 

-The officiating has been horrendous. I’m glad the Yankees scored ten runs the other night, so that the blown calls were a non-issue.

 

-A-Rod is lighting up the postseason so far. He tries to hide it, but his emotions and and focus are really starting to shine through.

 

-I think Nick Swisher is proving to be an invaluable asset this year, if not for his play on the field, then for his sense of humor that he brings to the clubhouse. You can tell the Yanks are having fun.

 

-Fundamentals win games. It’s the simple plays that make you or break you in the postseason.

 

-Is there anyone else you’d want on the mound during the postseason other than Andy Pettite? the older he gets the more he’s becoming one of my favorite players.

 

  1. -C.C. Sabathia vs. Cliff Lee in game 1 of the world series. Former teammates starting against each other. What an awesome story.

 

-Pedro vs. the Yankees in the Series. Another fun story.

 

-I’m picking the Yankees in 6 games, with Pettite or Sabathia picking up mvp honors.

 

Blessed.

In small group tonight, we were asked to talk about things that happened this week that made us feel blessed. My blessings:

 

-I received an encouragement note from someone that I thought was being over-critical.

 

-Looking back on where I was last year at this time, I am realizing how much more exciting my story is this year. I am in the presence of so many more friends, and am able to take advantage of some great relationships forming with my church family.

 

-My roommates are awesome. We are very rarely all at home, or awake at the same time, but when we are we have a blast. We spend a lot of time joking around, but we have some great discussions as well. bigorangematty brings an enthusiasm to the sketchouse that is contagious to say the least. and ilookliketimtebow and I get into some great political (and football) debates, but we always end as friends which makes it all the more fun.

 

One love, One heart.

 

listening to:

light / matisyahu

joshua tree / U2

shoot the moon / face to face

 

reading:

hebrews / unknown

the end of print / david carson

 

watching:

nooma 11: rythym

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

