Stupendous Man.

Every once in a while I start to take myself too seriously. My jokes become more sarcastic, I start to look at people cynically, and I find myself submitting more and more to the culture around me. The news starts to matter, sporting events become a big deal, and things like approval, budgets, and calendars, start taking precedent over smiling, laughing, enjoying the presence of others, and loving life. I’m not one to shrug off responsibility, but when things get out of whack I’m quick to remember one of my childhood heroes…

 

STUPENDOUS MAN!!!

 

…and I am reminded that stuffed tigers are real.

 

Susie Derkins was designed to be a target for my latest snowball throwing device.

 

Snowmen can be avant-garde artwork.

 

Existentialism is a big word for asking ‘Why’.

 

There are monsters under my bed.

 

Babysitters need to earn their pay.

 

Cardboard boxes can help you travel through time.

 

and PBBBHTHTHTHTHTHTHTHTHT! is perfectly acceptable when words won’t work.

 

one love, one heart.

 

reading:

Scientific Progress Goes ‘Boink’ / Bill Watterson

To Kill A Mockingbird / Harper Lee

Acts / Luke

 

listening:

Church Music / David Crowder Band*

Charge!! / Aquabats

3 Feet High and Rising / De La Soul

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

