“So what are you thinking right now?…”

Get rhythm.

This has been a theme of sorts for me lately. A lot of people have been asking me how things are going, and this is the term that keeps coming to mind. I’m finding my rhythm. My time at my new church home has been amazing so far, and I consider myself very blessed. Like any other church, North County has it’s own unique rhythm that I am learning to play along with. If i were to describe it musically, I think NC reminds me of most of the Beach Boys. We have a unique harmony at our church, and an energy that is distinctly californian. There are a lot of intricacies to our church that add layers and depth to the overall song. And like many of the Beach Boys songs,  it is the combination of all the voices and instruments together that gives NC it’s appeal.

And I’ve seen a lot of guys wearing sandals to church.

 

Camp.

Every year I talk about how much fun church camp is. This year I think i’ll let this picture tell the story:

Uncommon courtesy.

I’ve been noticing lately how the smallest gesture can really change a person’s day. The other day in the parking lot of the grocery store I let this lady turn in front of me because it looked like she would be stuck there for a while. She found me in the store and we ended up in line next to each other. She told me she was having a bad day and that was the only nice thing she had seen that day. That conversation stuck with me, so I’ve decided to focus in on three things to be courteous to people; let them go first in line, hold open doors and always say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ to servers.

Bellfower.

I’ll close out with biggest/best news. It’s been a while since I’ve been real open about relationship stuff, but there is someone new in my life and things are going well. I’ll post more details later, but for now I’ll leave you with this; it’s been a long time since I’ve been this happy with every aspect of my life.

Listening to:

Dan Auerbach- Keep It Hid

311 – Uplifter

Jimmy Eat World – Futures

Reading:

Blink- Malcolm Gladwell

Crazy Love – Francis Chan

Psalms – David

 

One love, one heart.

Author: djiverson

I am a Christian, son, brother, artist and friend. I am blessed to be the Youth & Family Minister at New Vintage Church in San Diego. Know You Are Loved.

comment here:

